6 Reasons Why I Love Remote Working

And why I don’t want it to end even when (if) we get COVID under control.

James Halliday
5 min readMar 10, 2021
Photo by Chris Barbalis — Unsplash

I don’t know about anywhere else, but here the Government has announced their roadmap out of lockdown. Already it seems most people think the crisis is over and life can go back to the way it was before the Pandemic. Our Prime Minister has announced that remote working will not be the ‘New Normal’, although I don’t know why he thinks it’s his decision to make.

Believe it or not, I am not looking forward to it. I’ve enjoyed the last year, mostly. Here’s why.

The Commute

Before COVID, and I think that’s a phrase we’ll be using for a while yet, my commute to work took between three and four hours. 180 miles of busy, horrible roads, the most congested in the UK.

I’d often leave home early, arriving at work by 07:30, avoiding the worst of the traffic. The return journey would be on a Thursday evening. It was tiring, frustrating, and a complete waste of seven or more hours every week.

All told, I usually cover four to five hundred miles a week, all at my own expense and, even with a cheap-to-run car, the monthly costs are eye-watering.

--

--

James Halliday

Project manager in live television, background in engineering and logistics. Biker, vegan, dad to two tiny terrors. Love travel, food, walking and photography